New Year and No New Me

Turn on the TV, and unless you are watching a movie channel, you are probably getting barraged with the same commercials over and over again.  Commercials about how you should invest in the whole “New Year – New You” idea and purchase whatever product it is they are selling.  Reading the newspaper yields the same results – grocery stores are pushing healthier foods and organics, gyms are running super cheap resolution specials, big box stores are pushing plastic tubs to organize your stuff, and there are entire sections of the paper dedicated to a healthy new you.

Let me clearly state that there is nothing wrong with making positive changes, but I don’t like the idea that I have to be a new me.

There are some things that I like about me just fine and am not inclined to change that.

Are there some things that I want to do better?  Sure!

But I don’t have to reinvent myself just because New Year’s Day rolls around.  And no one product, gym membership, or anything else will make that happen…especially in the short time periods promoted in marketing.

Making a better me will come from making one better decision at a time.  It will not all come immediately, and there will not always be a good decision, but it will come over time.

But with better decisions and work, change will come.

And I will not be a new me…simply a me who has made some positive changes.

One thought on “New Year and No New Me

Leave a Reply

