Defining Beauty

As I scrolled through my Facebook feed yesterday, I kept seeing that tomorrow was the day. I was a little clueless because I no longer keep up with much of the stuff on TV, but it is time again for that fashion show.  The one with the feathery wings and not much else.  The one that sends a very clear lesson about ideal beauty. Yeah…that one.

I used to think it would be so cool to be like that – tiny, seemingly flawless, and like it was no effort at all to look that way.  Now….not so much.

I am not my clothing size, and my size does not determine if I am beautiful or not.  If I lose another 25 pounds, will I suddenly be beautiful?  Is there a switch that just suddenly turns on?  A magic wand?  And how much thinner do I need to be to be beautiful enough?  The answer to that could get a little scary taken to an extreme.  And why is that beautiful for me?

I am beautiful just the way I am.  I have scars.  I try to be thoughtful.   I have flaws.  I am an encourager.  I have to work hard at Crossfit because I am not naturally athletic, but I can’t stand not to do something well.  I am fierce and determined and not afraid of hard work.  I have bad hair days, but good hair.  I have sun damage on my face, and I love being outdoors.  I have really green eyes and blurry vision.  I am imperfect, and in that, is beauty.

There are so many beautiful women on this earth of all shapes and sizes and colors.  Beautiful women. They are not beautiful according to fashion magazines, yet they are still stunning.  And they are not only beautiful on the outside, but there is something about them that is beautiful – their heart, their kindness, their willingness to help, their encouragement, their attitude, their mind, their fearlessness, their determination, their physical strength, their emotional strength, and so much more.  These women are beautiful.

It is time to take that stand.  Your waist size, or any other size, does not determine your beauty.  And it is also time to send that clear message to our children.  It makes me very sad to think about the number of my students, who are still pretty young, who will watch a movie or TV show and think that they are not beautiful because they do not look in any way like (fill in the blank here).  Who made that person the singular standard of beauty?  They cannot grasp that they are beautiful exactly the way they were created.

It is time to send the clear message:

Be beautiful simply in being you.

**  I posted this blog last year, but as this same event approaches, the message remains the same.  Being beautiful is being who you are.

Leave a Reply

