Canning “Crushed” Tomatoes

Tomato season is here.  I’ve canned quite a few diced tomatoes already, and am spending some time this week canning “crushed” tomatoes.  I don’t know about you, but I have a good number of recipes that call for them, and they are so easy to do, especially in the crock pot. 

You will need:

Roma tomatoes (these are meatier tomatoes and you will have less juice)

Your awesome crock pot

Rinse and chop your tomatoes.  Add to crock pot.  Cover and cook for an hour on low.  Then stir, and turn up the temperature to high and cook for another hour and a half to two hours. 

Skim off three to four cups of the juice.  Then, run your immersion blender through the tomatoes to get the consistency you like.  These should be fairly thick. 

Then, can your tomatoes as you normally would.  You can use my quick and easy method from last week’s blog as well. 

I use the crock pot for these tomatoes because it allows me to get more “crushed” tomatoes out of each batch.  I can’t get as many tomatoes in my regular pot. 

Enjoy your summer bounty all year long!!

Leave a Reply

