Sanity Over Ego

Admittedly, I am a get things done never say die overachiever type of girl.  One of those don’t tell me it can’t be done because I am going to do it or die trying people.

Yep, that’s me. 

And that all came to a big fat screeching halt this weekend.  Why?

14.2

It started with a 65 lb overhead squat – actually ten of them.  My max is 35 lbs.  That’s it – 35 lbs.  And I have worked to get that much and be able to squat to the proper depth.  I’m better, but not 65lbs better. 

So the little voice in my head that says “you can do this once” got totally shut down by the reality.  Do I seriously think that I am going to add 30lbs to my worst lift and expect instant awesome to happen?

Ummm….no. 

That is exactly how I hurt myself last year – trying to add weight when I had no business doing so and expecting awesome to kick in.  Didn’t happen, and I spent a few weeks with a spider web of tape across my back and hips.  Charlotte’s web had nothing on the tape on me. 

So sanity kicked in over my need to achieve. 

Truly, this is no one’s fault that I cannot make this lift.  This is just where I am at this moment in time.  I am okay with that…other than my desire to improve.  But honestly, there is so much to improve upon that I am trying to work on that list a few things at a time.  And I am okay with that, too. 

Now, on to 14.3. 

Leave a Reply

