Truth Telling

Truth.  Tell the truth.  It seems to be such a simple concept; just be truthful. 

Lately, that has been a struggle in my life.  People seem to think that it is permissible to lie to me.  My students, other adults, the media, the world – what the heck is up with this?

This is not okay.  It sends the clear message that I am not worth the truth, or that I am so stupid that I will not figure out that someone is lying to me. 

I am worth the truth, and I am smart enough to figure out when someone is not being truthful. 

So don’t tell me that it is someone’s M.O. to lie.

Don’t tell me that you are impulsive and it just jumped out of your mouth.

Don’t tell me you lied to protect me.

Don’t tell me you lied to make me better. 

Don’t tell me that you are not going to lie about just lying to me. 

This is not okay. 

Just tell me the truth. 

I should be worth that to you.

3 thoughts on “Truth Telling

  1. Jarrod says:

    As Steven knows so well, we have to deal with a lot of the same issues over lies in the IT business as well. It’s so frustrating…Truth is always the best policy no matter what and it makes it a lot easier to fix if you know the truth from the lies…You have a better starting point on where the issue begins…as opposed to where it ends.

  2. Jarrod says:

    That’s Stephen…Not Steven….I have no idea why Spell Check rejects one name and changes it to one with a “v”…Sigh…I hate Spell-Check…

Leave a Reply

