What a Difference a Year Makes

A year ago this weekend, I drug my out of shape self into Cross Fit.  I was less than six months out of major surgery (I donated a kidney to my dad), and feeling like I was getting nowhere with my super slow running.  Cross Fit was rattling around in the back of my brain since my cousins owned the box and had been inviting us all to come.  So I did, and things have never been the same.

I’m not going to lie – I was so sore after the first day that I thought it would be weeks before I was normal again.  But my cousin told me to come back that Monday and work out again to help with the soreness.  Strangely enough, it did, and I was hooked. 

I can now do things that I never imagined.  I never saw myself lifting weights, and not only am I lifting and making progress, it is fun…except for overhead squats.   Pull ups?  I’m getting better at them.  Box jumps?  I’m jumping now, instead of stepping up.  I am making progress on all sorts of things that I never thought I would even be able to do in the first place.  Far more progress than I ever made in years at the Y.  It has not been overnight, and I often leave the box a sweaty chalk covered mess, but I like the progress I am making.  And I like the results that I am seeing. 

I am also now part of a huge family at the box.  Together, we struggle through the adversity of Fran.  We rejoice at each other’s triumphs.  Each new PR brings a barrage of high fives and cheers.  Even people who are drowning in a pool of their own sweat after the WOD will pull themselves off of the floor to come encourage you.  There is always someone to help, support, encourage, and rescue you before you hurt yourself. 

I also have the best coaches in the world.  They are not just putting in time, but are truly wanting each person to improve.  These coaches patiently scale weights and WODs so that each person is still challenging themselves at a good level.  They will answer any questions, go over lifts with you until you understand, and design things for you to do inside and outside of class to get better.  They cheer your progress, tell you to pick the bar back up and keep going, and expect nothing less than your best. 

I am also mentally stronger.  Challenges no longer seem overwhelming because I’ve been through worse at the box…like any workout with a name.  I get a strategy and plow my way through it.  After all, this certainly can’t be worse than (fill in the WOD name here). 

So thank you Cross Fit family for the incredible year, and I am so looking forward to what we can accomplish together in the next year. 

2 thoughts on “What a Difference a Year Makes

  1. David Bonnell says:

    One of the unexpected things about CrossFit is how supportive a community the box becomes. Competitions really help here because you become part of the team.

Leave a Reply

