Memory Tree

Memory Tree

We put up our tree this weekend, and we had so much fun. I am not much of a theme tree person – not that I don’t like them, but that implies that I am somehow organized about this decorating thing. I am not, and perhaps that is my choice. Our decorations are a lovely, sentimental hodgepodge of things that people made for us, things that were handed down, gifts, and things that we bought that we loved.

Our tree is no different. Out tree is covered in memories and love. It is beaded icicles and angels from my Granny, along with some of the other ornaments that were passed down to us from her. It is ornaments that my students have given to me through the years, everything from engraved apples to angels to glittery things to silly flamingo ornaments. It is the ornaments that my son made in preschool, and ornaments that we bought when he was born. It is the candy canes that we made one year out of pipe cleaners. It is the ornaments from my family, friends, and ornament exchanges. And it is the ornaments that we bought just because they were too cute to pass up.

Each one has a story. Each one has a memory. And the tree would somehow seem incomplete without even one of them…just as our lives would be missing something without the people in our lives who gave us both the ornaments and the memories.

Leave a Reply

