Christmas is Coming – Update 2

So, I am ten days away from December 01, and here is my progress so far:

1.        Apple butter for teacher’s gifts is done. 

2.        Our photographer has posted the gallery of pictures and they are amazing.

3.       I have ordered some gifts online already.

4.       I have the events on the calendar that we need to attend, and nights blocked off for us to stay home or do family stuff.

5.       I have some meals already cooked and frozen, and the meal/prep plans done for the next two weeks.

6.       I have already shopped online for gifts that I need to go pick up this weekend.  I have to head out to the mall anyways, so I might as well save the shipping. 

Here is what I have left to do: 

1.        Make another half a batch of apple butter for additional gifts.

2.       Order Christmas cards.

3.       Pick up the remaining gifts this weekend and wrap them.

4.       Start doing Christmas baking.

5.       Decorate.

6.       Make a few meals ahead in the crock pot. 

That is it.  That is seriously all I have left.  I have to say I love this idea of organizing little bits each week to get it all done.  I cannot tell you the last time I had anything done before Thanksgiving, much less December 15th.   It feels really good to know I can work a little each day over Thanksgiving and have it mostly done, except for the cards, which will take a few days to print and come in.  But I can at least make the labels for those. 

The email this week from Happy Simple Living advised to prepare meals and baking ahead of time to reduce stress and take advantage of coupons and sales.  I am all over that one.  I am a big fan of the crock pot, and I have a lovely Dutch oven as well, and I use those to cook meals ahead of time and freeze them.  Both will make huge batches of soups, stews, and chilis, which freeze well.  I also have some other recipes on the blog, and the Happy Simple Living blog had some websites listed that are also super helpful. 

So I am still working on it, and I am closer to my goal than I have ever been before. 

 

Leave a Reply

